Follow by Email

Friday, 22 June 2012

And So The Margaret James Trilogy Begins

The Silver Locket by Margaret James

This is the first book in the trilogy that follows the Denham family. It starts in 1914 and we meet the young head strong, wonderfully defiant Rose Courtenay who is not willing to confirm to her families Victorian wishes. Therefore rather than being married to her parent’s choice of suitor she runs away and becomes a nurse. Whilst working in France during the war, she meets Lieutenant Alex Denham who reminds me of a Lion Bar of chocolate. He has many layers and textures, some chewy, some soft, but over all very solid.

In Choc Lit true fashion, we are encapsulated into the story and characters, so that they become so vivid, bright and alive, we care about them and what happens to them. This novel has so many depths and layers, it’s a love story with muscles. The research is comprehensive and therefore every reader will learn something, they did not previously know about that time in our history.

One of the nicest feelings about getting to the last few chapters, is not only finding out how it all ends, but knowing that you have another two books to read afterwards, you do not feel like you are saying good bye to the characters. You know you are going to be able to catch up with them in  The Golden Chain and The Penny Bangle. 

In conclusion a lovely, romantic novel that every woman who loves chocolate will adore.

The Commuting Bookworm 12/06/12

No comments:

Post a Comment